@af1899 reviews [Lovely Gifts] --- Special Heroes of Feb/2020! 💖

To note

:outbox_tray: All the links in my reviews (barring scroll ones) will open in a new tab/window by default upon click/tap
:uruguay: All the datetimes are in Uruguay standard time
:radioactive: Units with the symbol “⤭” are indicators that they’re summonable as 4★ during the lifespan of this banner, this symbol will be used from now on

Introduction

Hello everyone, I hope y’all are having a good day.

After the release of the Feh Channel we got news of the new seasonal units coming soon, themed after the Day of Devotion, Heroes from the world of Valentia come in dressed for the ocassion, they are…!

[Lovely Gifts]

LINKS Open the video in a new tab View the japanese trailer

Everyone’s stats

LINKS Source Enlarge

Special Heroes

⤭Conrad

EPITHET Unmasked Knight
WEAPON TYPE Sword
MOVEMENT TYPE Cavalry
INFORMATION PAGES FANDOM | FE Wiki | FEH info | GamePress page

Bio

:briefcase: Written by @Caleb

Skillset

Coming without his mask for the Day of Devotion, he sports a new kit as a sword cavalry unit:

  • ☆[Melee Bouquet+]: it’s a weapon with an analogue effect to [Sturdy Impact] as said weapon grants attack and defense +4 during combats initiated by the holder on top of negating follow-ups, since {impact} skills can’t be given to armored and cavalry, giving the sword ones this weapon grants them the chance to stop follow-ups
  • [Ardent Sacrifice]: it’s meant to give him some team synergy as he comes with [Wings of Mercy 3] to get to an adjacent space of an ally with equal or less than half their HP — then he can sacrifice his HP by a fixed 10 (leaving him with at least 1 though) to heal said ally by 10HP while also helping him safely get on [Brazen Def/Res 3] range (during any combat, so long as his HP is equal or below 80% of their HP he gets DEF&RES +7)

Inheritance options

He can come at 4★ so [Brazen Def/Res 3] in that case, if you’re also going to roll for a 5★ copy for fodder or have one then ☆[Melee Bouquet+].
But if you can afford the feathers and your copy is 4★ then I strongly recommend to prioritize his weapon due to its useful effect and being unique yet inheritable, [Brazen Def/Res 3] is on F!Hardin and M!Kana at 5★

Stats

palemoon,Heroes__Fire_Emblem_Heroes_Wiki_-GamePress-_Pal_2020-02-06_16-50-53-233

  • Superbane: HP

Yes, only a superbane to his HP so you’re good to choose any boon but avoid an HP flaw whenever possible.
Anyways, his statline is nearly identical to the OG variant except for a few points but even their BST is the same, have a look:

palemoon,Heroes__Fire_Emblem_Heroes_Wiki_-GamePress-_Pal_2020-02-07_14-37-44-176

Yes, this means that you can build V!Conrad like the OG one but considering that the former is a sword wielder (red).
Great mixed bulk, low speed and decent attack, certainly interesting to work with, specially with the weapon he comes with.

Statline rating: 8.5/10

Aesthetics reference

Original art:

Their artwork in FEH

Sample quote:

(Click/tap for quotes)

Rudolf

EPITHET Emperor of Rigel
WEAPON TYPE Lance
MOVEMENT TYPE Armored
INFORMATION PAGES FANDOM | FE Wiki | FEH info | GamePress page

Bio

A renowned General and 4th Emperor of Rigel, he was appointed to be the next successor in the throne after the previous Emperor despite his indirect descendance as he’s a potential wielder of [Falchion] and the bearer of a Duma’s brand.
Seventeen years before the events of Shadows of Valentia he had a son with a birthmark in one of his hands, after noticing both he and a Zofian Princess have similar birthmarks he entrusts sir Mycen, a good old friend, to his care, since a prophecy long foretold would eventually come into reality.
He’s respected by the people of the country he commands and has absolutely loyal knights

Skillset

Rudolf comes for the ocassion as an armored lance unit with this skillset:

  • ☆[Thorn Lance]: it’ll reduce the max CD for all specials by 1 and check if, at the start of each combat, he has higher attack than his target, if that’s true he’ll inflict attack and defense -6 during the combat and prevent follow-ups
  • [Bonfire]: having its CD reduced to 2, this’ll increase his damage by half his total defense stat on each activation
  • [Special Fighter 3]: it’s one of armor’s finest skills, granting a faster special charge while delaying that of his target if his HP is above half the maximum
  • ☆[Threat. Atk/Def 3]: this skill will have synergy with ☆[Thorn Lance] as it checks if there are enemies within a 2-square radius of him, if so all of them within said area will suffer attack and defense -5 while also blue buffing V!Rudolf by attack and defense +5, it’s particularly useful for close range combat

[Aether], [Quick Riposte] (seal) and [Atk/Def Solo 3] is possibly a great combo to go with him to complete his blank spots and give him a better special — you may also consider a dual phase set or something else for enemy phase to make use of his physical defense, I don’t really recommend working on his RES but if you want to make him mixed it takes some extra effort

Inheritance options

[Special Fighter 3] is getting more and more common to find, so my recommendation will be ☆[Threat. Atk/Def 3], if you take [Threaten Atk 1] or [Threaten Def 1] from someone else then you’ll be able to bring [Special Fighter 1] which can be of help for future SI

Stats

palemoon,Heroes__Fire_Emblem_Heroes_Wiki_-GamePress-_Pal_2020-02-06_16-52-31-884

  • Superboon: defense
  • Superbanes: HP, attack, resistance

Yikes, three superbanes, that’s a mined field.
His greatest assets are his high base attack that gives him a greater chance to enable ☆[Thorn Lance] coupled with his defense and still high HP he’s a great physical wall but with that resistance he’s kind of falling behind there, workable but it takes more investment to get it to be of use.

P!Lukas (or even the OG but he’s not armored) make a fine comparison point as they both can accomplish similar things:

palemoon,Heroes__Fire_Emblem_Heroes_Wiki_-GamePress-_Pal_2020-02-06_16-52-56-649

Quite the high BST armored are getting now, to no surprise though considering we had W!Sothis, a dragarmor with 185, but eh, back to P!Lukas, he’s still viable but V!Rudolf will outshine said unit in the physical tanking area mainly thanks to the PRF and ginormous attack power.

Statline rating: 9/10

Aesthetics reference

Original art:

His artwork in FEH

Sample quote:

(Click/tap for quotes)

Faye

EPITHET Drawn Heartstring
WEAPON TYPE Colorless Bow
MOVEMENT TYPE Armored
INFORMATION PAGES FANDOM | FE Wiki | FEH info | GamePress page

Bio

:briefcase: Written by @Bow-of-Sacae

Skillset

Getting her first alt as an armored archer, Faye is ready for the Day of the Devotion with this skillset:

  • ☆[Budding Bow+]: it includes an effect analogue to [Sturdy Impact] — but the boosts granted on initiation are of +4 to attack and defense during combat and stop follow-ups, it’s certainly useful as cavalry and armored can’t use {impact} skills this gives the bow-wielding ones the chance to use a similar effect
  • [Moonbow]: it’s there to ignore’s 30% of target’s DEF upon each proc, useful on defensive units
  • [Death Blow 4] and [Bold Fighter 3]: combo with her weapon to give her a strong offensive power on player phase while securing special proc on the second strike
  • [Armor March 3]: will grant her an extra movement point if starting the turn with 1+ armored ally adjacent to her

If you plan to let her receive an attack from an enemy before the second one really often then I recommend to give her a 3CD special like [Luna] or [Iceberg] as the enemy’s counterattack will also reduce the CD so you can make use of a stronger effect while remaining able to proc the special on the second strike.
Other than that she comes pretty much built for the player phase, she won’t likely need anything else but she has the skills or fodder for someone else if you need to

Inheritance options

☆[Budding Bow+] and [Death Blow 4] is possibly the best combo, the recipient can even have [Death Blow 2] just fine and you can just take its LV4 version plus said weapon but being at LV3 will let you take either the B-skill or C-skill at LV1 as they’re rare so I recommend that

Stats

palemoon,Heroes__Fire_Emblem_Heroes_Wiki_-GamePress-_Pal_2020-02-06_16-49-59-250

  • Superboons: speed, resistance
  • Superbane: attack

If that speed superboon tempts you to make her speedy then go for it, but like V!Rudolf’s RES you’ll need to put quite some investment for this speed to be of use, the rest of her stats though, they do compensate, mixed bulk with potential RES superboon? Yes, those [Iceberg] procs could hurt even more and not to mention the high base attack.
H!Jakob is still ok but he’ll be falling behind with the significantly lower BST and bulk+attack:

palemoon,Heroes__Fire_Emblem_Heroes_Wiki_-GamePress-_Pal_2020-02-06_16-50-19-365

Statline rating: 8.5/10

Aesthetics reference

Original art:

Her artwork in FEH

Sample quote:

(Click/tap for quotes)

ↀAlm+Celica

EPITHET Lovebird Duo
WEAPON TYPE Axe
MOVEMENT TYPE Infantry
INFORMATION PAGES
FEH info | GamePress page
BST PUSH 185
DUO SKILL
(Enlarge)

Bio

Alm

:briefcase: Written by @KGNova

Celica

She’s the 17 years old Princess to the throne of Zofia and only alive member of the royalty, born to a priestess of the Mila Temple and the previous king of Zofia in the Valentian year 385, she grew fond of Alm during her stay in Ram Village, both of them were born uncannily resemblant birthmarks on their opposite hands — Celica’s on the right one.
One day, Desaix and his henchmen came for hunting the last member of the Zofian royalty but she was sent to a remote priory in the east of Zofia by Mycen — there, she learnt about Mila’s teachings and the arts of magic.
She’s described to be “kind and polite person, who is often bold yet refined” person

Skillset

Well… this Duo Hero comprised of the main lords from Valentia are really strong right off start and won’t likely need any investment as their build helps them right off the bat to survive:

  • ☆[Scepter of Love]: it grants him [Speed +3] and runs two checks at the start of each combat that determine if the effects explained below will activate:
    • Unit has blue buff
    • Unit's HP is above 70% of their maximum
    If either or both are true then this Duo will get attack equal to 25% of foe's defense stat while also reducing his target's attack by 25% of foe's resistance stat. This is a reference to Celica's and Alm's Legendary Hero weapons
  • [Bonus Doubler 3]: it copies all his blue buffs onto invisible buffs ("doubling" them) during combat, if an stat has no blue buff then that stat isn't benefitted from this skill, just the ones with visible buffs
  • [Lull Atk/Spd 3]: he reduces attack and speed by -3 on top of disabling visible buffs on his target, this and ☆[Scepter of Love] will make Alm+Celica that much harder to take down already
  • ☆[Rouse Spd/Res 3]: it gives the holder blue buffs of speed and resistance +6 at the start of each turn, provided they don't start with any ally adjacent to them, with the native [Bonus Doubler 3] you can tell he can get at least 52 speed

Busted right? This unit is pretty scary, you’ll need a good red physical wall and a [Guard]-like effect to avoid their special+weapon to decimate said unit, [Triangle Adept 3] becomes a hard counter against this Duo but it can help if you’re struggling with them, it’s really niche though as it helps reds with match-ups against greens.
As for the Duo recommended kit, just this one, but if you want to give them an edge on enemy phase then give them [Distant Counter], [Null C-Disrupt 3] and [Brazen Atk/Res] or [Mirror Stance] for seal

Inheritance options

☆[Rouse Spd/Res 3] without a doubt, you may bring along another one of the skills at LV1 (do it actually!) since his other skills are on the regular pool and that’ll allow you to make more use of said units’ fodder later on, provided the recipient will be the same

Stats

palemoon,Heroes__Fire_Emblem_Heroes_Wiki_-GamePress-_Pal_2020-02-06_16-47-54-757

  • Superboons: speed, resistance
  • Superbane: HP

His statline is nearly on par with recent powercreep but it’s their skills and high base speed that’ll make them a pain to deal with, not to mention you could even prefer a resistance superboon since he’s really fast on his own even without any investment (52 speed after buffs!) and mixed bulk can be somewhat good on top of still granting a +1 to the BST than normal.
The most similar unit is Hilda:

palemoon,Heroes__Fire_Emblem_Heroes_Wiki_-GamePress-_Pal_2020-02-07_14-54-03-734

Both V!Alm+Celica and Hilda have the chance to reach disgusting levels of speed with their own kit and can potentially use [Bonus Doubler 3] if they need to but [Atk/Spd Solo 3] suffices for the latter.
Slightly higher DEF than RES is also a common trait between each of these two.

This Duo Hero will be a hard contender with these stats alone

Statline rating: 7/10

Aesthetics reference

Original art:

Their artwork in FEH

Sample quote:

(Click/tap for quotes)

◍Silque

EPITHET Selfless Cleric
WEAPON TYPE Staff
MOVEMENT TYPE Cavalry
INFORMATION PAGES FANDOM | FE Wiki | FEH info | GamePress page
MEDIA INFO HAKO

Bonnie Gordon

Bio

A sweet yet serious cleric from the priory of Novis (a island southeast of Valentia) in service of Mila.
She went on a pilgrimage with her Rigelian mother and nothing is known about her father as she never saw him, after that she lost sight of her mother ever since she went on another pilgrimage in Zofia, after that Silque was found and raised as an orphan in Novis, then she leaves to give Alm a [Mila’s Turnwheel], a device that allows to undo actions in any map

Skillset

Six months after her debut in FEH she’s given an alternate version for the Day of Devotion as a cavalry staff and tempest unit, meaning a 4★ and 5★ copy will be handed over for free at 1.5k and 15k of score in the associated [Tempest Trials+] respectively — well, this is her skillset:

  • ☆[Rapport Wand+]: it’ll grant visible stat increases (buffs) of +5 to attack and defense to the ally/allies with highest base speed
  • [Martyr+]: this assist will restore an ally’s HP depending of the user’s lost HP + 50% of their attack, on top of restoring half the lost HP to the user
  • [Heavenly Light]: this special restores 10 HP to everyone but the holder upon activation/proc
  • [Live to Serve 3]: this B-skill will allow her to stack the effects of self-healing with [Martyr+] to recover even more HP
  • [Spd Opening 3]: it’ll grant a blue buff of +6 to ally/allies with highest speed at the start of each turn, it synergies with her staff, this kit is analogue to W!Eirika’s

With this kit she’s ready for a high amount of self-healing and restoring her teammates, leaving it is alright to buff that ally that shouldn’t be near his/her army like F!F!Corrin or Edelgard as they’re boosted if alone

Inheritance options

She brings [Spd Opening 3] at 4★ so that’s your prime option, if you’re foddering her go for it — if her fodder is going to a healer consider taking ☆[Rapport Wand]
As for the free 5★ copy her best SI is this combo, assuming you did the previous one: ☆[Rapport Wand+] plus [Martyr+], [Live to Serve 3] is rare to get and only at 4★ in Ethlyn, a tempest unit — if you need it you’ll have to get [Live to Serve 2] from a 4★ Wrys beforehand and [Martyr] so you can take said skills at max in one SI

Stats

palemoon,Heroes__Fire_Emblem_Heroes_Wiki_-GamePress-_Pal_2020-02-06_16-46-29-196

  • Superboons (unused): attack, speed
  • Superbane (unused): resistance

Can we get an F for her? In favor of slightly more mixed bulk her attack is rock-bottom for this age of the game like her speed, but at least healing cavalry are getting some boosts in BST and the mixed bulk does help.
She’s the first cavalry healer with this kind of statline so the closest point of comparison is one of the slowest of her kin:

palemoon,Heroes__Fire_Emblem_Heroes_Wiki_-GamePress-_Pal_2020-02-06_16-47-30-811

Also slow but he’s more of a physical wall with that 76/55 mixed bulk, it does make a difference.

Anyways V!Silque is really usable, even as buffer right out the box, but these stats will make you focus on her defenses rather than the offensive apartment, which requires some extra work for it to be of use.

Statline rating: 6/10

Aesthetics reference

Original art:

Her artwork in FEH


Sample quote:

(Click/tap for quotes)


:arrow_double_down: Scroll down to part 2/2

19 Likes

:arrow_double_up: Scroll up to part 1/2

Banner

Duration: 2020-02-07T07:00:00Z2020-03-06T06:59:59Z

Overview

GENDER RATIO 3 3

Alm and Celica get yet another alt they don’t really need, I feel that we should have gotten an alt of a character that’s on the game but only as OG, how about Sonya? (Definitely not biased suggestion :eyes:) That’d likely have worked quite well but some of the other choices for this banner would have needed to be replaced because both Alm and Celica are accompained by one unit of each route and the Emperor of Rigel himself which gears towards Alm’s route but Rudolf is an enemy, we could have said the same for some other units but anyone on Celica’s side would at least balance the units from each route we get in.
At least the gender ratio with the tempest unit (Silque) is perfectly balanced… “as all things should be”

Aesthetics

V!Conrad is definitely better drawn than the OG one and his beloved energic voice remains the same.
V!Rudolf’s art is kind of a downgrade in comparison to his art in Shadows of Valentia but it’s still good and some details like the cape and crown are preserved, it’s just that his face is a different story… the voice acting is really fine even though the VA is someone else compared to his origin game.
V!Faye is still the Faye we know, doing everything in her power to win Alm’s heart, shown even in her art as she carries meat for him — but her dress combines really well with her very cute design.
V!Alm+Celica do look and sound great while showing their happiness with their strong bond.

But V!Silque’s design overall is my winner of the batch, her only presence already tells how detailed yet clean is her artwork, not to mention that her voice is the soft, low pitched one we’re used to and love — she’s pure and very calming to look at, I’m glad she’s a free unit too.

Almost everyone has the same VAing as in Shadows of Valentia which is great, quotes and the characters personality do translate properly into the game and characters reflect their interest on the Day of Devotion festival

Ratings

Banner rating: 7/10
Artwork: 8/10
Voice acting: 10/10

Associated event data

LINKS Source Enlarge | Datamine

  • Event type: [Tempest Trials+]
  • Event name: “Romance Whirlwind”
  • Duration: 2020-02-08T07:00:00Z2020-02-18T06:59:59Z
  • Seals: [Defiant Spd], [Even Atk Wave], [Close Guard]
  • Tempest unit: Silque: Selfless Cleric

:bookmark_tabs: Temporary central glossary/symbology (will be replaced later on here and the other reviews)
:speech_balloon: Discussion thread
:envelope_with_arrow: Third feedback round
:clock230: Click/tap here to check my other reviews

The End

Thank you as always for reading my reviews and your support — it’s really meaningful to me, remember you can subscribe for getting notified of more releases.

I apologize if you waited for it too much, that’s because I needed all the bios wrotten by others.
If you’d like to volunteer to write a bio for a character in future reviews just send me a PM or write a comment in this thread/the latest feedback round thread and we can talk about it.

Oh and there’s a handy feature in here where you can feature a thread in your profile and user card, my latest review will always be featured in said places if you need to find it for convenience, try clicking/tapping my profile picture!.
To set it up for you: look up for this feature at the end of your profile preferences:
palemoon,Profile_-af1899-GamePress_Community-_Pale_Moon_2020-02-06_15-59-15-684

22 Likes

Your work is very well-written as always, I think this one may be one of my favorites I’ve seen. Well done! :ferdysmile:

14 Likes

Thanks a ton! I’m happy to see it’s your liking — I’d like to give recognition to your work on Faye’s bio as well, it’s a 10/10 from me
:+1:

12 Likes

Excellent job! Keep up the great work you do for us. :catflower:

...

Yeah sorry about my delay, it took me a while to figure out what to use to describe Alm and Celica without using too many spoilers and such. I’d like to thank @af1899 for being very patient with me since I did take a little while. I hope you enjoy this review! :feh_ashepeek:

12 Likes

You can pay a subscription for it.

8 Likes

I appreciate it, I’m glad I could help contribute!

12 Likes

Thank you! I’ll be certain to, as for the motive of the delay: that’s alright, the job was more than worth the wait and I’d like to give my recognition to you for it, thanks a lot
:feh_rinea_smile:

11 Likes

Now we need the Ram Village bois to get alts

10 Likes

:cat:
Hi Bow
Using those English skills of yours well, I see

9 Likes

Oh, the subscription service is a notification system currently run via PMs where you’re notified of new review releases, it’s free of course and will remain like that

10 Likes

So you give us resplendent texts for free. IS learns.

8 Likes

Wow, I’m loving the review! And good on @KGNova, @Caleb and @Bow-of-Sacae for those bios! They were all spectacular! I sure wish I could write that well…:feh_corrinconcern:

Anywho this was an amazing review, and the effort is appreciated!

Also minor nitpick but shouldn’t

Be

:briefcase: Written

?

Just a little thing, but overall it was amazing, glad to see more details and such as well.

Great work! :feh_excidunn:

9 Likes

They can learn a thing or two if they actually listen to their players
:feh_kleinyes:

But yes, I do these without asking for anything, I don’t think it’s right to ask for anything even if it’s worth it.

In any case if you’d like to subscribe you can let me know anytime

10 Likes

Thank you very much! I think that typo is one of these small ones that escape my grasp easily so I’ll see it corrected immediately, thanks for letting me know!

8 Likes

I’ve been waiting so long for it :fgo_jeannu:

5 Likes

Thank you :fgo_gudako:

9 Likes

Cheers.

Was surprised Rudolf has gotten so little mention on gamepress. He’s a beast.

9 Likes

Great review! I think it was well worth the wait and a very good read. :+1:
And congrats to @Bow-of-Sacae, @KGNova and @Caleb for the bios too.

Despite not pulling on this banner, I really like the choices and aesthetics of the characters as well. And Valentia sounds similar to Valentine so I’m really happy was on this banner.

The weapons are pretty good for other units who don’t have Impact skills but now I’m kinda worried of B!Lyn with Budding Bow and WOM dancers/sweepers. Thank God it’s a seasonal weapon.

9 Likes