How to rekindle passion for the game?

Hello everyone, long-time lurker here. I’m a bit nervous to post here, but I’m facing a dilemma and I would appreciate some input, if you don’t mind.

I’ve been playing this game since its launch in 2017 and have never missed a log-in bonus. I have all the free 4* Servants at NP5. It’s a bit embarrassing to admit, but I used to be addicted to this game, to the gacha system. I’ve spent too much money too many times for too little results. Despite this, I would always come back, hungry for more, more, more. I would say I was a small whale with not-very-good luck.

The Fate series (and other TYPE-MOON works) has a very special place in my heart. I love the vast and rich lore, the way magic works, and the originality in general. I play FGO mostly for the story. It’s not perfect and I would even say that some aspects are annoying, but I still always enjoy reading a new chapter. I don’t think I would enjoy the game as much as I do if I played on the Japanese server because I wouldn’t fully understand the story.

Lately, however, I get the feeling that I don’t enjoy the game as much as I used to—it started at the beginning of the year, when the Kingprotea banner dropped. I had been saving for many months in the hopes of summoning her, and even though I did get her, it took me about 1200 SQ for one copy. I was happy to finally have her home, but I was also kind of bitter even though I very well know that nothing is guaranteed when rolling the gacha. I grew even more bitter when the same thing happened with Kama and I started asking myself if the disappointment were worth it. I stopped whaling after that and became F2P. (It took me almost 400 SQ to get one copy of Ashwatthama this week, I swear this game truly hates me…)