IC or FB PVP Lapras?

Hi,

I wanna use a Lapras in ultra league and I am in a dilemma:
I have one Lapras with Ice shard and Ice beam and a stat product of 97.06% and another one with frost breath and surf with a stat product of 98.2%. The one that will be chosen will get a second charged attack of course. Another problem is that the one with ice shard is much lower in CP than the 2nd and needs more stardust and candy.

So my question is which one is the best choise?

With Lapras you need Ice Beam…the Ice Shard just gets to charged moves a bit faster than Frost breath. Frost Breath getting to a non-baiting move (anything but surf) and yours wouldn’t have Ice beam) will take a while. Your opponent might have Registeel or fighting and be able to switch to them to face your Lapras…

2 Likes

I see, so you believe the 1.1% difference of stat product isn’t that big of a deal and that the extra 50k stardust is worth it?

I’m relatively new to this so I don’t know how much difference 1% makes…

Plan on using things you make for next season, too. Many of these 3v3 matchups end up being very close, in my opinion Surf is used to bait+be viable against Charizard. The Ice Beam is important for Lapras’ real purpose Giratina-A (and bonus Togekiss damage and coverage for grass)

1 Like

Since 3 days, I am at level 8, I am stuck and win only 2/5 games, sometimes 3.

I have never used a Lapras in PVP before. I have a shiny legacy IS/IB Lapras from raid days 11-10-11 which maxes at 2498 cp. I am tempted to max it up, and add a second move to it (Surf).

In a team of 3, who would you add to Lapras? I’m thinking Typhlosion (or any fire type) and Togekiss. Do you think it would be good?

I’m thinking of adding a blaziken as it covers registeel well but a Typhlosion with BB would do I guess. I would prefer sth bulkier for this role though, Blaziken falls so quickly sometimes. I think I’ll add a Granbull or Shiftry as well.
Alolan Muk is good with lapras too.