New guy needs advice

Greetings ladies and gentlemen of knowledge.
I started kind of recently and a lot of research has been leading me here. I’ve hit level 25 and am starting to wonder what to do with my resources so I don’t waste too much and reached out to my local community for pointers, but I’m now noticing their input seems to drastically go against what I’m understanding from this website (and that Trainer Tips youtube channel).

Basically my neighbourhood seems to say literally anything that isn’t 100% IV and absolute number 1 per type DPS should go to the bin… which seems like that’ would be basically everything I own with no exception. Mind you it’s possible I just happen to be in a very competitive / whale prone area for all I know (I just started playing so I could spend time with my fiance… well ex now… w/e). Also none of them seem to wanna answer what New Attack is, is it an additional charge move or is is an expensive TM?

I do realize spending all my dust on a 100% Weedle or Castform would probably be unwise, I was under the impression prioritizing movesets was a bigger deal then just absolute perfect IV, but I could be wrong. I’ll list what I seem to have on my upper availability and ask you kind guidance if you don’t mind too much. I’ll try to list as much information I can find to paint a better picture though of course I won’t list everything… I wouldn’t want to abuse of anybody’s good will and we’d be there forever, thank you again.

Gyarados CP 1438 ~ level 15 (I think)
13 Atk / 15 Def / 14 HP : Waterfall + Hydro Pump
This is what initially had me wondering, according to your listing this should be an optimal moveset, but the only reply I got from my community was “it’s not a perfect Kyogre, it’s garbage” so I wasn’t sure if my doubts were justified or not. Of course I’d love it if it was a full 100% … but I’m either doing something really wrong or just plain unlucky.
Level up or pass?

Groudon CP 2458 ~ level 21 (I think)