The Lack of Logic in Salem...?

~As this is my first time posting, please do forgive any mistakes~

NOTE: I have not yet finished Salem. Also, I have tried to remain as emotionally neutral as possible, so do forgive me if there seem to be negative or positive tones.

So Salem was recently released and a new chapter of FGO has come out. I have been progressing through the story and really like the idea of the setting, however, a thought I have never had before has come across my mind. This thought was that the actions that our protagonist takes make no sense whatsoever.

The place in the story where I’ve started having these thoughts is when the hangings in Salem started. Over the course of many singularities, our protagonist has had his/her personality defined and molded and there are certain beliefs that I believe our hero holds that is crucial for the character to be consistent. However, with the hangings that I have read up to so far(Mata Hari’s), the protagonist’s approach to the situation does not align with how he/she would have acted considering the history. It feels incredibly out of place for the protagonist to simply let his/her friends, servants, and innocents be hurt and abused when there is a clear way for them to intervene. Not only that, the main character doesn’t even make an attempt to act against the current force of oppression, Hopkins.

When Mata Hari goes through trial and gets found guilty, we literally just watch the sentencing without doing anything all the way up to her execution. Wut? The character that would literally risk their life to help save Ana in Babylon would do nothing. The character that fought against the Lion King for Bedivere’s redemption would do nothing. Literally nothing. Sure there are hints that something bigger is happening and Mata Hari doing her silent lip artistry is there, but it’s not consistent with what the protagonist would be doing.