Type Advantage

Hey, I’m fairly new to Pokemon Go (just 1 month in) so I got a question.
I was training with the electric leader Spark in Ultra League and my pokemon was Rhyperior as I thought the type advantage would be useful.
Here’s my Rhyperior for reference.
I was against his Magnezone and he built up an attack. I didn’t use a shield because type advantage and he hit me with a zap cannon. To my surprise, it was super effective. Is this a bug or am I missing something?

Magnezone also has the Steel move Flash Cannon, those would hit a partial rock type super-effectively. That confusion from your eyes would be my best guess.

There is no way an Electric-type move like Zap Cannon can hit your Rhyperior effectively. The only explanation is you mis-read something, either the part about how effective it is or the opponent’s move. Flash Cannon, which is also another move used by Magnezone is Steel-type which can hit your Rock-type part of your Rhyperior super-effectively.

Here is how Types Advantages work in Pokemon. Keep in mind they are a little different on how they function in PoGo and Main Series Games, but the general structure is the same.

Immunity- Receives absolutely no damage from the type match-up regardless of power, level or “how impressive the animation”. For example, a level 100 Dialga, the God of Time uses its signature move Roar of Time on a newly hatched level 5 Igglybuff. Roar of Time will NOT do any damage simply because igglybuff has a Fairy-type, which is immune to all Dragon-type moves. Immunity DOES NOT EXIST in PoGo. See “Double Resist”